To Homeschool or Not?

My 8 year old boy that is. It’s my dilemma at the moment and I’m really confused.

I spent the whole afternoon yesterday researching on homeschooling in the Philippines. And the wealth of information that I found on the netleft me even more confused and undecided! It’s because I found out a lot of things about homeschooling that both excites and scares me.

But first, let me explain why I’m even considering homeschooling when I am perfectly satisfied with my son’s non-traditional school. It’s because we are still awaiting the result of our New Zealand permanent residency application. We expect to know it by next year but problem is, we don’t know exactly WHEN. And while the decision is still up in the air, we are left hanging in mid-air. We cannot make definite or concrete plans. Like my kids’ schooling for example.

By January 2008, my son’s school will be asking for a reservation fee to ensure a slot for next schoolyear. I know it makes sense to just go ahead and pay the 9k fee and just pull him out in the middle of the school year if our visa comes. But the thing is, we have to pay the full tuition fee of 100k+ regardless if he only gets to attend a few months in school. And I’m unwilling to risk that much money. It’s like throwing away our hard earned pesos which we could use as part of our settlement fund when we get to New Zealand.

And that’s where my idea of homeschooling him came in. But as I learned more about homeschooling, I felt scared. A lot of questions popped in my head. Am I really capable of homeschooling my son? The websites say that you have to be a college graduate to qualify. Check. I’m a college grad. It says that you must not have a full time job. Check, I’m a SAHM. It says you must devote at least four hours everyday to teach your child plus one or two hours of preparation time. Uhmmm…well, maybe. At this point, I began to doubt If I can handle it since I’m a hands-on mom to my baby and therefore has no full time yaya. Then, scenes from my tutoring sessions with my son flashback in my mind. The frustration and exasperation we both feel as we sometimes quarrel over his homeworks. Ugghh! Do I really want to do this day in day out for the next 12 months?

Right now, I feel like backing out na. But when I think of the 100K going down the drain if I keep him in school next year...Aba, aba….. I feel like sige na nga, I can do it!

Haay….ano ba talaga?

4 Responses

  1. merry christmas!

  2. Hi Florence! Wishing you and your family a Blessed Christmas.

  3. Hi Florence! Kumusta? It’s good to know you’re back. I’ve visited here several times. Sabi ko siguro sobrang busy mo.

    It’s nice to hear from you again. Welcome back!

  4. Hello!!Visiting here..Care to exchange link??God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

